SEVERE TSTORM WARNING

Newaygo, Mecosta

The National Weather Service issues a SEVERE TSTORM WARNING for Newaygo, Mecosta Counties through 8:30 A. Gusty winds greater than 60 mph and quarter-inch hail are possible with storms tracking E at 25 mph. 

Always get your new workweek weather at wwmt.com/weather/ 

Breaking Weather Map #1
Breaking Weather Map #2
Breaking Weather Map #3
Breaking Weather Map #4

Mich. drivers with no child safety seat may pay up

Updated: Thursday, February 21 2013, 02:51 PM EST
Mich. drivers with no child safety seat may pay up story image
LANSING, Mich. (AP) - Michigan drivers may no longer be let off the hook if child passengers aren't in a safety seat.

Violators now can avoid up to $103 in fines and court costs if they buy a child safety seat before the court appearance date on their citation.

But under a bill passed 35-1 by the state Senate on Wednesday, judges would no longer be required to waive the court penalties. Supporters say repeat offenders aren't buying car seats in good faith.

The legislation specifically addresses violators of a requirement to secure children under age 4 in a safety seat. Michigan also requires children under age 8 to be in a booster seat.

The bill was sent to the House for its consideration.
Mich. drivers with no child safety seat may pay up
comments powered by Disqus

Top Stories

advertisement
advertisement